Books by Mary F. BurnsJ-The Woman Who Wrote the BiblePortraits of an ArtistWest Portal MysteriesShort StoriesWorks in ProgressAbout the AuthorContact Me
Mary F. Burns
writing word by word...
Books by Mary F. Burns

NEW! Ember Days -- On the edge of the cultural earthquake that would be the 1960s, the people who live in the coastal village of Mendocino in 1959 can feel it coming. Beats and jazz, poetry and art are spilling out of San Francisco onto the northern coasts of California. World War II is laid to rest, but people feel restless. When a village son, now a priest, comes back home to bury his mother, he finds his younger brother gone and a town full of secrets—some of them his own. Ember Days, named for the ancient marking of the change from one season to the next, reveals the heart’s deep longings and fears in the face of truth and change, life and death.


Upcoming Events for Ember Days

June 25 - The Gallery Bookshop, Mendocino -- 6:30 pm - Author Night

July 6 - San Francisco Public Library, Main Branch 6:30 pm -- "Real & Imagined: California Fiction" with Mary Burns, Ciji Ware and Mark Weideranders

Visit the Ember Days Book Site for background, events and photos.

Click here to see the Ember Days Trailer.

Click here to ORDER your Kindle E-book or Print copy now.

An Historical Mystery Series!

John Singer Sargent and his childhood friend Violet Paget (aka writer Vernon Lee) have returned as amateur sleuths to focus their artistic and literary sensibilities on solving various murders and crimes that fall into their ken.

The first book, THE SPOILS OF AVALON, is a dual-time-period mystery that reaches back to 1539 as Henry VIII is despoiling the Catholic monasteries -- and involves John and Violet in 1877 as they seek a murderer in the north of England.

Click here to see The Spoils of Avalon book trailer.

Visit the Sargent-Paget Mysteries blog for more news and background about The Spoils of Avalon and the series as it goes forward.
Published November 2014, Sand Hill Review Press. All Rights Reserved.

The first in a new trilogy, Novels of Genesis, Isaac and Ishmael follows the familiar story lines in the Hebrew Bible (Christian Old Testament) but presents individual persons on a human scale in order to explore the thorny, complex and delicate relations between these brothers, who live in a place where time and eternity touch. A new God is coming into being here: Yahweh, the uncanny, irascible, mischievous, bargaining God who participates in the life of a new people and compels them to a new way of being human. 

Click here to see the Isaac and Ishmael book trailer.

Visit the Genesis Novels blog page for more news and background on this book and the forthcoming series.

Published November 2014, Sand Hill Review Press. All Rights Reserved.

Portraits of an Artist: A Novel of John Singer Sargent

John Singer Sargent was an enigmatic figure in his private life—he never married, but was intimate with many of the fin de siècle celebrities in Paris, London, Venice:  Henry James, Oscar Wilde, Edward Burne-Jones, Sarah Bernhardt. In 1882, Sargent was twenty-six and rising rapidly to fortune and fame, especially in Paris—but by the end of 1884, he had retreated from the City of Lights, disgraced and grieving, to make a new home in London. During these years, Sargent produced what are widely considered to be two of his very finest paintings, the Daughters of Edward Darley Boit and Madame X, haunting portraits with dark psychological depths that engage and puzzle the viewer. Mary F. Burns’ second work of historical fiction—Portraits of an Artist—imaginatively portrays the motivations and passions that underlie Sargent’s creative force and brilliantly revealing art.

Visit my blog  about John Singer Sargent

Published July 2013, Sand Hill Review Press. All Rights Reserved.

J--The Woman Who Wrote the Bible

Like the women of the Red Tent, even the daughter of King David lived in a world ruled by men. But this woman was born to break the rules of both men and God in order to learn the art of writing, and with it, a power that could reveal the hidden truth, or slay a man with a single word. Secretly initiated into the magic of writing, Janaia finds she must master the sublime powers and visions that come with this "knowledge of good and evil," a journey which reveals the secrets of life and death through heartbreak and sacrifice.

Click here to see the book trailer for "J".

Learn more about "J" at

Published June 2010, O-Books, John Hunt Publishers. All Rights Reserved.

  Note: All books are available online in print and e-book formats.

Click here to go to Mary F. Burns' Amazon author page for more information. 


Books by Mary F. BurnsJ-The Woman Who Wrote the BiblePortraits of an ArtistWest Portal MysteriesShort StoriesWorks in ProgressAbout the AuthorContact Me